Home Martial Arts Krav Maga Are There Belts In Krav Maga? The Facts Explained

Are There Belts In Krav Maga? The Facts Explained

Are There Belts In Krav Maga? The Facts Explained

Krav Maga is known as the deadliest martial art in the world. A martial art technique developed to defend a group of people fighting for something they believe in is bound to be powerful. But learning this technique does require effort and time. A degree of investment is required before you move from one level to another.

Although Krav Maga does not adhere to many traditional and ceremonial aspects of martial arts globally, it has a level system. Krav maga is divided into five levels, and a person undergoing training for this technique can earn up to six belts, with the black belt being the highest step of honor. One crucial difference is that leveling up on Krav Maga or acquiring a higher level ‘belt’ does not mean that you are awarded an actual belt. 

The ‘belt’ is just a symbolic title. As students move up the Krav Maga levels, they are awarded certificates to signify their growth and progress.

If you want to learn more about the Krav Maga system and what precisely it entails, keep reading ahead. 

What Is Krav Maga? 

Before we get into the leveling system of martial art, a bit of context about the nature of the art is crucial. Krav Maga is a martial art technique that is one of the deadliest and most comprehensive in the world. 

Developed and introduced as training for the Israeli defense force, it combines different fighting techniques such as aikido, boxing, judo, karate, and wrestling. 

For more on this, watch this video

How Does The Levelling System In Krav Maga Work?

The system is in some way similar to the way traditional martial art leveling systems work, but the students have more freedom. After the students have spent the required hours and believe they have the skills necessary to level up to the next step, they request the instructor to test them. 

The instructor is usually part of that student’s training program and they supervise the test and determine if the student is qualified for the next level. 

Why Is This Levelling System Important?

The leveling system that allows students to acquire a higher level ‘belt’ as they move from one phase to another is crucial in helping students self-evaluate and know for themselves where they stand in terms of their training.

It also allows them to determine how much more training they need. Acquiring a higher-level certificate is also a matter of honor for the students. 

What Are The Different Levels Of Krav Maga?

Krav Maga has five main levels, but six belts can be awarded. Each level requires a different amount of time and equips you with more challenging skills than the last. Levels 1,2 and 3 require six months, and levels 3,4,5 require 12. 

In this order, the belts are yellow, orange, green, blue, brown, and black. The sixth level is an additional honorary award that is given for acquiring the highest level of skills.

In Conclusion

Krav Maga is not like the conventional version of martial arts but has certain similar traits. It may not award actual belts, but leveling up on the technique does award you with ‘certificates’ that act as belts for each level that you progress in.