Should You Watch Star Wars Prequels First?

There are many Star Wars fans out there, for sure, but there may also be people looking to start watching the series with no prior knowledge of it. As such, they may wonder what the best order for beginning the series is.

Generally, the best order is considered to be the Machete order. This would entail starting the series with Episode 4, then Episodes 5, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, Solo, and finally Episode 8. The creator of Star Wars also has his own recommended order.

Keep reading below as we describe these orders in detail.

Should You Watch Star Wars Prequels First?

According to George Lucas, the best way to watch Star Wars is in numerical order. George Lucas recommends starting with Episode I as the entry point into the Star Wars saga. It’s as easy as counting to six: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. “That’s the way they’re supposed to be done,” he says. “Just because it took a long time to film doesn’t mean you don’t do it in order.”

The numerical method often appears to be the simplest and most appealing for newbies. However, the opening episode, The Phantom Menace, represents one of the weakest entries in the story and can be extremely disappointing for beginners to the series. When you get to the fifth film, you no longer have the element of surprise that the unexpected twist ending of “Empire Strikes Back” provided.

This is also the original viewing format for tens of millions of Star Wars viewers. The major plot surprise and the genesis of Anakin Skywalker as Darth Vader can only be fully appreciated by watching the classic trilogy first, followed by the prequel. The best and most entertaining way to kick off the series and introduce newcomers is with the naive journey of Luke Skywalker and his comrades in A New Hope. The problem is that the latest trilogy feels a little disjointed after you’ve watched the prequels. Thankfully, a different order exists to address this problem.

Which is the Best Order?

As reported by fans, the best way to watch the Star Wars series is by following the Machete order. It consists of the following order:

Rogue One

It’s recommended that first-time viewers of the Star Wars franchise start with a more recent film in the franchise. In addition to this, it is not necessary to have practically any prior knowledge of the other films. The film gives us a greater introduction to Darth Vader than previous films and shows us the beginnings of the rebel alliance. If you’re interested in this film, the conclusion will leave you wanting more, which is amazing.

Episode 4 – A New Hope

This was the very first Star Wars movie ever made, and in it, Luke Skywalker, our hero, learns what it means to be a Jedi. We also get our first glimpse of Princess Leia and the rebel alliance that she battles for. After that, we’ll proceed to…

Episode 5 The Empire Strikes Back

This is the part of the story in which Luke Skywalker continues his training in the ways of the Force and manages to engage in combat with Darth Vader himself. The film concludes with a mind-blowing twist that will have viewers who haven’t seen the tale wondering what happens. Therefore, some downtime is in order. Let’s not watch the next episode, but instead focus on finding out how the entire galaxy got to this position…

Optional Viewing: Episode 1: “The Phantom Menace”

You should only watch this movie if you want to complete your films or if there are kids at home. The planet Naboo and Senator Palpatine make appearances, as does an exciting “car” race. There’s also a child and a space clown who don’t advance the story and are there just for laughs.

Episode 2 – Attack of the Clones

It is still a mystery to us how the wicked Galactic Empire came into existence, but through the course of this movie, we learn that the Republic was not in harmony and required significant adjustments. We also get to know the Jedi Knights and Jedi Masters, along with their triumphs and failures. And of course, there’s Anakin Skywalker, the rebellious Jedi who wants to get away from it all for the sake of love and vengeance.

Episode 3 – Revenge of the Sith

At its height, the battle gave birth to the Galactic Empire and marked the demise of the Jedi Order. The film offers one of the most satisfying conclusions in the series. We can now see how this story concludes because we have a complete understanding of the Empire’s past.

Episode 6: Return of the Jedi

In light of Luke’s newfound knowledge, the Rebels must immediately destroy the Empire. However, the Empire now possesses an upgraded Death Star. The story will have a happy ending, but it will be a surprise. The problem is that they won’t be able to live happily ever after because…

Episode 7 – The Force Awakens

After 30 years, the remnants of the Empire are back as the First Order. General Leia organizes the Resistance to oppose the First Order and get insight into its motivations. Rey, a young woman who has no ties to either side of this conflict, finds out that the Force is likewise powerful with her and decides to begin training.

Solo – A Star Wars Story

‘The Force Awakens’ likely made you reflect on Han Solo. Let’s pause for a moment and learn about his background and how he came to be Chewie’s friend.

Episode 8 – The Last Jedi

Despite Rey’s success in tracking down Luke Skywalker, he still won’t train her due to his own bad experiences in the past. Luke has evolved, and now he believes that the traditional Jedi order must be abolished.


There are many ways to watch a TV show like Star Wars that consists of many prequels. At the end of the day, this is a personal decision that every person must decide for themselves after researching the TV series.

Latest articles

Related articles